Facebook Icon Google+ Icon YouTube Icon Twitter Icon
  • Political Science
  • Fast Facts

    Program Start Term: Fall, Spring

    Award: AA Degree

    Average Class Size: 18

    Program Length: 60 Credits, 4 Semesters

    Part-Time or Full-Time: Both

    Course Availability: Day, Evening, Online

    Course Locations: Pueblo, Fremont, Durango, Mancos, Online

  • Career Information
    Career paths for Political Science degree holders extend far beyond running for political office. They also include public administration, law, policy research, international relations, diplomacy, business, political campaigns, and working for charitable or non-governmental organizations. Upon transfer, students who have earned the Associate of Arts (AA) Degree with Designation in Political Science will be ready to complete the second half of a BA in History at a four-year institution.

    What Will I Learn
    Political Science involves the study and debate of the political process, and those who enjoy it understand the difference between an opinion and an argument. Studying political science may be the key to an exciting future in a variety of careers. Political science graduates have a passion for political life not only locally but also globally. By conducting research and in-depth study, they discover the origin, development, and operation of political systems and public policy.

    Degree Transfer
    This degree transfers to the following Colorado Public Four-Year institutions of higher education:


    • Adams State University (B.A History, Anthropology, & Political Science: Political Science)
    • Colorado Mesa University (B.A. Political Science)
    • Colorado State University-Fort Collins (B.A. Political Science)
    • Colorado State University-Pueblo (B.A. Political Science; B.S. Political Science)
    • Fort Lewis College (B.A. Political Science)
    • Metropolitan State University of Denver (B.A. Political Science)
    • University of Colorado, Boulder (B.A. Political Science)
    • University of Colorado, Colorado Springs (B.A. Political Science)
    • University of Colorado, Denver (B.A. Political Science)
    • University of Northern Colorado (B.A. Political Science)
    • Western State Colorado University (B.A. Politics & Government)