Nursing Programs

Course Descriptions | Degree Requirements | Club Activities

Associated of Applied Science (AAS) Degree
Program Director: Eva Tapia
E-Mail: Eva.Tapia@pueblocc.edu
Location: HS, Room 205
Phone: 719-549-34
09
Our Faculty
Links To Other Programs
     Nurse Aide
     Psychiatric Technician

Nursing Photo - Courtesy of Havey Productions
Photo by Havey Productions

Faculty:
Pueblo Campus 
Kay.Annese@pueblocc.edu, Sandra.Gallegos@pueblocc.edu,   Paula.Kirchner@pueblocc.edu, Mary.Nicks@pueblocc.edu,
Margie.O'Leary@pueblocc.edu, Joan.Pope@pueblocc.edu, Mailyn.Tabor@pueblocc.eduEva.Tapia@pueblocc.edu

Fremont Campus
Cathy.Coram@pueblocc.edu, Veronica.Dawson@pueblocc.edu

Durango Campus
Emilie.Budd@pueblocc.edu, Marcy.Meiers@pueblocc.edu, Kate.O'brien@pueblocc.edu

Career Opportunities
The ADN program prepares you to provide safe, therapeutic, and competent nursing care in hospitals and other healthcare settings. You may also work as an entry level patient-care manager.  Click here to research available job opportunities.

Program Description
The ADN program teaches you skills of direct patient care that you can apply in any healthcare setting. It offers theoretical and applied instruction in classrooms, simulated laboratories, and clinical settings. It integrates education in adult, gerontological, obstetric, pediatric, and psychiatric-mental health nursing. Your clinical learning will take place in diverse types of institutions. Entry level courses in leadership teach you to direct and supervise ancillary personnel. The program allows a practical nursing exit point (certificate). After successfully completing the first two semesters of the program, students are eligible to write the Practical Nursing National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-PN). At this point, students could exit and seek employment as LPNs or continue on in the remaining two semesters and prepare to write the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses (NCLEX-RN). After completing all requirements, you will receive the AAS degree. Successful performance on the (NCLEX-RN) awards state licensure and qualifies you for the title of Registered Nurse (RN).

Entrance requirements:
BIO 201, BIO 202, BIO 204, ENG 121, PSY 235, and passing score on the Accuplacer or documented remediation.

This is a limited-entry admission program. You must meet specific program entrance requirements in addition to the PCC admission requirements. Students must complete general education requirements with a “C” or higher (minimum GPA 2.5) to be admitted to the Nursing program. Students who complete the departmental application process will have their qualifications reviewed by the program’s admission committee.  The committee will consider the following criteria in the selection process: prerequisite GPA, completion of all general education courses, and health related work experience.  Applicants not accepted for a given year who wish to be considered for a subsequent term must reapply.

Note: Clinical agencies used during the program require that you successfully complete a background check, drug screen, immunization series and CPR training.  Please check with a program advisor for any changes to admission requirements.

 

Accredited by the National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission (NLNAC),
3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 850, Atlanta, GA 30326;
Telephone: 404.975.5000, www.nlnac.org.
Approved by the Colorado State Board of Nursing.

Updated: 6/2012

 


			AB Student Lounge

Pueblo Community College . Pueblo, CO 81004-1499 . 719-549-3200 . © 2009 Disclaimer

Future Students | Current Students | Parents & Family | Alumni & Friends | Community & Industry | Faculty & Staff